Kirby Fire Department

To Protect and Serve the Citizens of Bexar County

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home ESD #11

ESD Information


The Kirby Fire Department would like to thank all the residents of the unincorporated Bexar County area serviced, for there loyal support in our endeavor to pass ESD #11.

On May 10th 2008, voters overwhelmingly passed the petition establishing ESD #11. Shortly thereafter the residents of the service area sent resumes and references to the Bexar County Commissioners Court. Representative Tommy Adkinson along with staff, interviewed prospective members for the establishment of the board of directors for ESD #11. By the end of the month of June a board of directors was in place, and moved diligently to secure the education and knowledge needed to run such an organization. In August, the board of directors met with the prospected fire department and asked the department for a draft of a proposed budget and expenditures to establish a tax rate that would secure the needed funds to operate at the current level with room for improvement. A tax rate of .10 per $100 valuation was recommended and adopted for fiscal year 2009, with the Kirby Fire Department providing continued fire suppression and first responder services to established ESD #11.

The board of director’s main concern, as was the fire departments, was the addition of manpower to secure the needed help for responses in the area. In contracting with the Kirby Fire Department, the board of directors stipulated that a minimum staffing of three persons be maintained for fire responses and a minimum staffing of two persons, for first responder calls. This stipulation has been met with the addition of six professional firefighters hired since January 2009, bringing the total paid staff of the Kirby Fire Department to sixteen, to include the fire chief.

As our department grows, so does our commitment of maintaining only the best fire suppression and first responder service in Northeast Bexar County. We will maintain the high standards of loyalty, integrity, and courage. And be an active participant in our community, not only to coexist, but to be the valued and trusted service, that is only a “phone call” away.



ESD Board Of Directors

VICE PRESIDENT: Leroy Schleicher
SECRETARY: Earlene Williams
TREASURER: Robert Brown

Contact the ESD board at:   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it